

Cabinet Legislation Committee

Minute of Decision

This document contains information for the New Zealand Cabinet. It must be treated in confidence and handled in accordance with any security classification, or other endorsement. The information can only be released, including under the Official Information Act 1982, by persons with the appropriate authority.

Therapeutic Products Bill: Approval for Introduction

Portfolio Health

On 24 November 2022, the Cabinet Legislation Committee:

- 1 **noted** that the Therapeutic Products Bill (the Bill) holds a category 4 priority on the 2022 Legislation Programme (to be referred to a Select Committee in 2022);
- 2 **noted** that the purpose of the Bill is to protect, promote, and improve the health of all New Zealanders by providing for:
 - 2.1 acceptable safety, quality, and efficacy of medicines or performance of medical devices, and active pharmaceutical ingredients across their lifecycle;
 - 2.2 acceptable safety and quality of natural health products across their lifecycle;
- 3 **agreed** that the Act will bind the Crown;
- 4 s 9(2)(h)
- 5 **agreed** to include in the Therapeutic Products Bill a prohibition on sponsors and suppliers from offering improper inducements to health practitioners to make favourable decisions in relation to a product;
- 6 **approved** the Therapeutic Products Bill [PCO 19563/45.2] for introduction, subject to the final approval of the government caucus and sufficient support in the House of Representatives;
- **noted** that the rongoā workstream commissioned by the Minister of Health and Associate Minister of Health (Māori Health) will be announced when the Bill is introduced;
- 8 **authorised** the Minister of Health to make minor and technical amendments to the Bill prior to introduction;
- 9 **agreed** that the Therapeutic Products Bill be introduced by 30 November 2022;

LEG-22-MIN-0212

- 10 **agreed** that the government propose that the Bill be:
 - 10.1 referred to the Health Committee;

10.2 enacted by 31 August 2023.

Rebecca Davies Committee Secretary

Present:

Hon Chris Hipkins (Chair) Hon Poto Williams Hon Jan Tinetti Hon Dr David Clark Hon Kieran McAnulty Dr Duncan Webb, MP **Officials present from:** Office of the Prime Minister Officials Committee for LEG