

Cabinet Social Wellbeing Committee

Minute of Decision

This document contains information for the New Zealand Cabinet. It must be treated in confidence and handled in accordance with any security classification, or other endorsement. The information can only be released, including under the Official Information Act 1982, by persons with the appropriate authority. NotHeat

Mental Health Act Reform

Portfolio

Health

On 26 June 2019, the Cabinet Social Wellbeing Committee (SWC):

- 1 noted that, in December 2018, Cabinet directed the Ministry of Health to provide options on scope, timeframes, and resourcing required to reform the Mental Health (Compulsory Assessment and Treatment) Act 1992 (the Act) [CAB-18-MIN-0621];
- 2 noted that reform of the Act will ensure New Zealand's legislation is fit-for-purpose and uphold New Zealanders' rights, and is a critical component of the government's commitment to transform the approach to mental wellbeing;
- noted the work already under way across government to incorporate stronger emphasis on 3 protecting and respecting individual human rights;
- noted that in May 2019, Cabinet agreed to the recommendations of the He Ara Oranga: 4 Government Inquiry into Mental Health and Addiction, which included the full repeal and replacement of the Act [CAB-19-MIN-0182];
- agreed to the following set of high-level principles to guide the policy development for 5 repealing and replacing the Act, and the process of transforming New Zealand's approach to mental health and addiction:
 - a human rights approach; 5.1
 - maximum independence; inclusion in society; and safety of individuals, their whanau and the community;
 - Te Tiriti o Waitangi;
 - 5.4 improved equity of care and treatment;
 - 5.5 recovery approach to care and treatment;
 - 5.6 timely service access and choice;
 - 5.7 provision of least restrictive mental health care;
 - 5.8 respect for family and whānau;

IN CONFIDENCE

7	directed officials across gove proposals; 9(2)(f)(iv)		
8			
9	9(2)(f)(iv)	thothealt	
	ard Carter mittee Secretary	.str	
Hon (Hon / Hon I	Phil Twyford Chris Hipkins Andrew Little Dr David Clark	Officials present from: Office of the Prime Minister Office of the Chair Office of the Deputy Chair Officials Committee for SWC	
Hard Minis	Nanaia Mahuta Stuart Nash Tracey Martin (Chair) Peeni Henare ogie, MP I-copy distribution: ster of Health	500	
	actively		